Commercial CALLBACK!

What a day, what a day.  First of all, I was thrilled to receive the call from Randi at CU that I had a callback for a Walmart Commercial.  The day is supposed to go perfect, right?

This morning I woke up and our apartment didn’t have water!  I called my Apartment Manager and he said it would be back on soon. He didn’t say why it was off, but we do have a couple open apartments in our small complex that are being upgraded.  So, when the water was finally turned back on, I rushed to get showered and ready for work at AIA Studios. I called my boss to let her know I would be a little late to work.  I needed to getready for my 2:15 PM callback that morning!

When the time came, I left AIA for Castaway Studios on Beverly Blvd.  I gave myself plenty of time for travel and arrived at 1:45 PM.  When I arrived the lobby was filled with girls my age in cocktail dresses.   One of the first rules for commercial callbacks is to dress exactly like you did for the original audition.  So I arrived wearing Khaki shorts and a tank for my “young mom” role.  My first thought was, “had the spot changed?  Uh oh, I did not get the message about the change in attire.”.   But you can’t let things like that throw you off your game as an actress.  So, I just signed in and waited for my turn.

However, I soon realized that the girls in the cocktail dresses were at the studio for a different Walmart Commercial.  And all the of cocktail dress girls needed to finish their auditions before casting moved on to the spot I was called back for.  All I can say is thank goodness for cell phones!  I was able to play around on facebook while I waited.

At 5:00 PM, casting was ready for my spot.  The Casting Director called all the women in the room for a brief explanation.  I looked around the room and there were only about 12 of us callback for the commercial.  It made me feel really good to know I was in that small group.

After the explanation, we were asked to  leave the room and the callbacks began.  I was the second to audition.  I went in for my callback, greeted the Walmart Execs and did my thing.  This spot did not have any dialogue, but was about interacting with a small child, who was playing my daughter.  This is a really cute spot and I would love to be a part of it.  I am a lucky girl to have been called back.

4 Comments

Filed under Actress, Auditions, Callback, Casting, Commercial, Commercials Unlimited, Entertainment Industry, Jennifer Keller, The Life of an Actress

4 responses to “Commercial CALLBACK!

  1. Lincoln Skinner

    Wow. You had to wait around for over 3 hours just to get called in? That stinks. =(

  2. janina

    Hi, I was googling Walmart callbacks 2009 and found your post. My daughter Ava is one of the girls they put on avail for this part. She was there that day with my husband, and it seems like it was a crazy day! We were put on hold last thursday fro this whole week, we have not heard about filming or been taken off avail. This business is hard. I love your positive attitude and you have a great look! Good luck!!!

  3. Hi Janina!

    Thanks for you sweet comments. Congrats to your daughter. I hope she booked the role.

    Best Wishes!

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

