Paris

A photo by the Eiffel Tower before the rain starts

A photo by the Eiffel Tower before the rain starts

Oh, how I love Paris!  Let me count the ways.  I love the sights, I love the food, I love the cute little cafe’s on every corner!  The Parisians were so friendly.  Many spoke English and made us feel right at home.
 
 The London Rain must have hitched a ride with us because the first day in Paris it was cold and rainy. First stop was the Eiffel Tower, which I was in awe of. It is so grand, so beautiful, it did not disappoint! As you can see, I was able to get a quick photo just before the rain started!  We retreated to an adorable creperie/cafe where we dined on delicious crepes served on china plates and tea .
 
Next we visited the great cathedrals, Notre Dame and Sainte Chapelle.  Both were majestic with beautiful stained glass windows that I could just stare at for hours.
 
While in Paris I also visited several of the top museums. It was nice to leisurely stroll down the halls of such great museums and take in the  paintings and sculptures.  I peered at the “Mona Lisa” (hidden behind bullet proof glass) at the Louvre; I admired Monet’s Impressionistic Paintings at the Orsay and I contemplated “The Thinker” at the Rodin Museum.
 
The Eiffel Tower at night

The Eiffel Tower at night

We always found time to visit the Eiffel Tower. Day or night, I could just stare at it for hours. There was a long line to travel to the top of the tower, but it was worth the wait.  The view is amazing (900 feet above the ground).  We decided to visit the tower in the early evening and stayed at the top of the tower and watched a glorious sunset.  Afterwards, we returned to the ground level we walked across the bridge to Tocadero Square.  Were we sat on the lawn and admired the tower.  Once evening falls, every hour on the hour, the Eiffel Tower is lit by hundreds of  blinking lights for 10 minutes.  It is quite a sight!

 We also took advantage of the “Hop On, Hop Off” Double Decker Busses and were able to visit a number of sights in a short time.  We took both the route through “The Latin Quarter” and the “Montmartre Area”.  On the bus we drove by infamous The Moulin Rouge.  The area seemed pretty sketchy, so we did not bother to get off. I did take a couple pictures of the building as the bus drove by.
 
We did visit the Sacre-Ceur in the Montmartre.  The Sacre-Coeur is a church on Paris’ highest hilltop.  There is a great view of the city from here.  One block from the church is the place du Tertre, which is a street filled with tiny tourist shops.  We came across a little stop where a local street artist was selling painting of the city and bought two.
 
Coldplay in Paris

Coldplay in Paris

 That evening we had a special treat.  We rented a flat in Paris and the owner had 2 Coldplay Concert Tickets that he could not use, so he sold them to us!  It was exciting to see Coldplay in Concert for the first time, and in Paris!  The Concert was held at the Soccer Stadium and we were standing in the field for the show. The crowd was electric!  What a great concert.  It was a thrill!
 
The next day I visited Napoleon’s Arc de Triomphe and walked down the Champs-Elysees.  On the Champ-Elysees, I visited LaDuree, an amazing tearoom/desert shop with an antique feel.  It was so elegant and I felt very underdressed, so I picked out a delectable desert to go.  It was quite pricy, but when I took a bite, it was well worth it! 
 
A photo by The Seine River
The Seine River at sunset

 Our last evening we took Le Capitaine Fracasse,  a dinner cruise on the Seine River.  It was incredibly romantic.  I dined on salmon and drank a rose wine.  After dinner, it was up to the top of the boat to catch the sights at night.  I found myself singing “Our Love is Here To Stay” just like in Gene Kelly’s movie “An American in Paris”. 

I wish I could have spent more time in Paris.  There was so much more that I wanted to do.  Alas, five days in Paris just flew by.   But I have wonderful memories and hope to return again.

Next Stop…Rome

Leave a comment

Filed under Jennifer Keller, My Private Life

Leave a Reply

