Rome

"So a woman wanted to take her husband to an authentic Italian Restaurant...."

Admiring the Pantheon in Rome

I spent 2 1/2 days in Rome.  What a grand city! Everything is larger than life.  Though, I didn’t feel quite as safe in Rome as in Paris. I was constantly cornered by locals offering discount tours or dressed up in costumes asking for photos for a price, or street vendors and beggars asking for money. And surprisingly, there is a lot of graffiti on the city buildings and subway trains.   Though once I arrived at the tourist sites, I felt more comfortable.  Most people spoke English at the large sights.   
 
The Colosseum

The Colosseum

The Colosseum was  an amazing sight.  It is mind boggling to think that the Colosseum is 2,000+  years old and is still standing so majestically. Within walking distance of the Colosseum are the ruins of Ancient Rome.  I followed the “Roman Forum Walk” spelled out in Rick Steve’s “Best of Europe” Book and viewed the ruins of the Basilica of Constantine, The Curia (Senate House), and the Arch of Septimius Sererus.  I even walked the path that Julius Caesar himself walked thousands of years ago.  Next we visited the Pantheon.  The Pantheon is an incredibly well preserved Roman church with huge granite columns.  Surrounding the Pantheon are adorable Italian cafe’s, just like the one referred to in my American Express Commercial!  I also ordered the best gelato I’ve ever had at a restaurant near the Pantheon.  Melon and Pistachio…yum!!

Tossing a coin in the Trevi Fountain
Tossing a coin in the Trevi Fountain

Afterwards we took a night walk in the city (Thanks again Rick Steves) and visit the Trevi Fountain and Piazza di Spagna, AKA the Spanish Steps.  The Trevi Fountain was built in the 1700’s and is amazing.  It is so grand, including a statue of “Ocean” and “King Triton”, with water gushing from 24 spouts.  The Spanish Steps are a hang out for locals and tourists alike. 

The second day in Rome, I went to Vatican City to see the Vatican Museum, the Sistine Chapel (a 328 foot tall dome painted by Michelangelo) and St. Peter’s Square.  And, very importantly, I went shopping for leather boots later that afternoon.  I was successful in my pursuit!  That evening, it was back to the Spanish Steps, where we enjoyed music, ate pizza from a local vendor and people watched on our last night.
Leave a comment

Filed under Jennifer Keller, My Private Life

Leave a Reply

