Casting Director Workshop with Eric Souliere

Tonight I attended a Casting Director Workshop with Eric Souliere, a casting associate at UDK.  This busy office casts great shows such as “Nip/Tuck” and “The Mentalist”.

When I received my sides for the evening, I was speechless.  I was given sides from “Nip/Tuck”, a show known for its edgy material.  My character was a 40-year-old divorce have a very personal procedure.  It was the dialogue I had trouble saying, I just do not speak that way. Hind sight is always 20/20 and I wish I would have asked for another scene.  But I did not, and I couldn’t even look at Eric in the eyes for a couple of my lines.  That’s the hard thing about casting director workshops.  You never know what kind of scene you are going to get and if it is going to suit you.  You’ve got to make it work.

UDK is such a great office and I really enjoy “The Mentalist”.  I hope I have a chance to read for them in the future.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Acting Class, Actress, Jennifer Keller, The Life of an Actress

3 responses to “Casting Director Workshop with Eric Souliere

  1. Peg London

    Hi, Jennifer,

    Question for you: have you worked with Robert Resendez on The Industry? You look like a lead detective I worked with briefly nearly a year ago– I was pulled in the very night of the shoot as the best friend of a murder victim.

    If not, no worries– best of luck,

    Peg

  2. Hi Peg!

    Yes, that was me. How great that you found me! I have photos on this site from the shoot, just look at my December 2008 posts. I never received footage from that shoot, did you?

    Jennifer

  3. Amanda

    Hey Jennifer, what casting director workshop did you go to? I am trying to get into the industry and don’t know where I should be going.
    Thanks much
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

