A Commercial AND Print Audition

Oh, what a week! Yesterday I had a commercial audition and today I had a print casting. And its only Wednesday. If only every week was like this one!

Yesterday my agent, Richie at CU, called to say that I had an audition at Ross Lacy Casting.  I am grateful for every opportunity to audition for this busy office.

I arrived early at 200 S. La Brea for the audition.   There were a number of people in the waiting room, which meant I would be there a while. No worries though, just part of the job.

I had the munchkin with me,  unfortunately. Generally I am able to find a babysitter for same day auditions, but occasionally I can not.  That’s part of the challenge of balancing my career and my personal life.  So we walked the waiting room and made new friends.  My munchkin is a really sweet girl.  She has to “talk” to everyone.  She has 14 words in her vocabulary (which is pretty good for a 13 month old), but she “babbles” complete conversations with everyone she meets.  I just have to laugh.

Soon it was my turn to audition. The commercial spot was great. This was for a “non-mom” spot, casual dress. I met a new casting associate, Michael, who was really cool.

All I can do is keep my fingers  crossed for a callback.

Today KSR Models sent me to Armstrong Casting for a commercial print casting call. I haven’t auditioned at this office since I was pregnant, so it was good to be back. I’ve always enjoyed auditioning at Armstrong Casting.  First the photographer takes the photos, then flips on a video camera and asks a couple of questions so they can get a better sense of who you are.

There were a number of moms in the waiting room with babies.  It was good to see that I’m not the only one trying to make it work.  And to those moms, I tip my figurative hat.  It’s not easy. But if you have a dream, you go for it.

Special thanks to Casting Directors Ross Lacy and Yvonne Armstrong for the auditions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Auditions, Casting, Commercial, Jennifer Keller, KSR Models, The Life of an Actress

Leave a Reply

