Commercial Print CALLBACK

I had a print callback on Valentine’s Day for a Jeans Company.  I won’t say which one, but I will say the callback was held at 5th & Sunset Studios in Santa Monica.

I arrived early for my 10:45 AM callback.  I had my sweet pea in tow and my good friend Brittani came with me to take care of her while I auditioned.

The models were asked to wear a black swimsuit to the callback and upon arriving were given jeans to try on for the client’s approval.  Models who were approved were then photographed.

I was brought to the changing area with a group of 3 other girls. One girl was already back there finishing up.  The jeans were in all cuts, including high and low waists as well as bootcut and straightleg.

Now, let me just say something about the audition process.

It never ceases to amaze me the things that actors/models say on set. For my readers out there, do not EVER complain or badmouth a product on set or in an audition.  Especially when the clients are sitting right around the corner!

Two of the ladies around me were making smart comments about the high waist jeans and the leg cuts, but what they failed to understand that the callback was not about them, it was about finding the right model for the PRODUCT.  While the 20-some-year-old models may not choose that particular cut, the product is being marketed to a different demographic.  And it is RUDE and DISRESPECTFUL to trash the product on set.

I always worry that the client or casting director will overhear their conversations and think that I am among the trash-talkers in the situation.  I usually keep my mouth shut, distance myself from them or try to say something positive about the product.

So, the moral of the story, be GRATEFUL for every audition. Do NOT trash the product on set. And remember that not only are you auditioning for the current job, but for other opportunities with that same casting director down the line.

Now, back to my experience.

The first pair of jeans I was given was not a good fit for my body type.  The second pair was a different style and much better fit.  I was sent over to the casting director, Michael, and the photographer, Matt.

I was thrilled to have the opportunity. And I’m thankful to casting, and of course to my agents at KSR Models for the opportunity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Callback, Casting, Jennifer Keller, KSR Models, Model, The Life of an Actress

Leave a Reply

